Spanaway Lutheran Church

Living as God's People - Sharing the Good News

This Is Us​​


Our History
Spanaway Lutheran Church is one of 10,000 congregations of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Americe (ELCA). Together with congregations across the world, we are involved in vigorous missions to bring people to faith in Jesus Christ.
This congregation was begun as a mission church in 1962. Our current sanctuary was dedicated in 1984. 
We believe in and encourage the minsitry of all baptized people of God. We believe that we are called to serve God through the work of the congregation and in the vocations of our daily lives.
We believe that we all fall short of God's expectations. We also believe that we have a loving God who forgives us. We believe that it is God acting for and in us, not our own acts, that bring forgiveness. Lutherans call this "justification by grace through faith." As a result we are new people who are not haunted by guilt or worry. We trust God who comes to us in the person and work of Jesus Christ.

Our Mission
To live as God's people - spreading the Good News of Jesus Christ.

Our Vision
We tell the story of God's grace, calling people to live in faith through God's love.

How We Do Ministry
Spanaway Lutheran Church is a congregation in ministry. Led by laity and clergy, we work together to take Jesus Christ's message of hope, new life an dfreedom into our community. Clergy and staff equip the laity, helping them discover their gifts and helping them be involved in ministry at the place their interests, gifts and abilities intersect. We honor the contribution of clergy and staff, who are the equippers of ministry,k and we claim the ministry of the laity, who are in fact Christ's unpaid servants.

Our Staff

"Whatever your task, put yourselves into it, as done for the Lord and not for your masters, since you know that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward; you serve the Lord Christ." ​​
[Col 3:23-24]

  1. Rev. John Schier-Hanson Pastor Pastor
  2. Stefanie DeZarn Office Manager
  3. Cheryl Drewes Director of Music Ministries
  1. Ellen McCracken Preschool Director/Teacher
  2. Kathy Olsen BASE Director
  3. Jenny Laycock BASE Program Coordinator
  1. Managing Director
  2. Managing Director
  3. Managing Director
  4. Managing Director
  5. Managing Director
  6. Managing Director
  7. Managing Director
  8. Managing Director

Our Church Council

"Therefore, my beloved, be steadfast, immovable, always excelling in the work of the Lord, because you know that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.
[1 Cor 15:58]

  1. Nancy Vignec President
  2. Laurel Wright Osborn Secretary
  3. Mary Herem Treasurer
  1. Anne Briehl Member at Large
  2. John Briehl Member at Large
  3. Doug Hedlund Member at Large
  1. Erica Lustig Member at Large
  2. Glen Ruediger Member at Large